HP Calculators in Southeast Asia

Asean Map

Malaysia, Philippines and Singapore

The Association of South East Asian Nations or ASEAN was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995,Laos and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999.

The ASEAN logo consist of 10 ‘parts’ which, when seen as one, can be a dream. The ASEAN logo represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic ASEAN. The colours of the logo - blue, red, white and yellow - represent the main colours of the crests of all the ASEAN countries. The blue represents peace and stability. Red depicts courage and dynamism. White shows purity and yellow symbolises prosperity. The ten stalks of padi represent the dream of ASEAN’s Founding Fathers for an ASEAN comprising all the ten countries in Southeast Asia bound together in friendship and solidarity. The circle represents the unity of ASEAN.